I saved a life tonight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I saved a life tonight

I know that this might sound self serving, but I was proud of how I responded...

I was at dinner at my favorite Mexican dive with 2 of my friends. As we were chatting, my friend sitting across from me points at something behind me. My other friend sitting next to me turns and looks and hits me in the arm and tells me that that lady is choking and you need to help her. I turn around and sure enough she is choking and her friends are starting to panic. I look around the place hoping that someone will jump up and scream "I'm a doctor/nurse/Red Cross CPR Instructor, stand back!!" But no, no one moves. Not like TV or the movies at all.

I get up and head over to her and told her that I going to do the heimlich. I certainly don't mean this to be mean or rude but she wasn't a small woman and thank god I am a fairly big guy and was able to get my arms and hands in the correct position. I did three sets of five hard thrusts before her brought up the food and was able to breathe again. I sat her down and made sure that she was doing OK (I asked her how her ribs felt) . The paramedics arrived about 3 minutes later and told me that I did a great job. They took her to the hospital to be checked out and her friends came to our table and thanked me several times.

As we were getting ready to pay the bill and leave the waitress told us that the woman's friends had already paid the bill for our dinner.

So to sum it up, all those times I took those CPR/First Aid classes (at least 5 times over the years) finally paid off. I was amazed how calm I was and how I remembered all the things I needed to do. So you just never know. Everyone should learn how to do the Heimlich.

My friend told some people at another table that I was actually certified in "doggy" CPR and they didn't believe it until I showed them my little card.

Scott