Emotions and dogs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Emotions and dogs

I was reminded on Sunday just how much dogs pick up about us. Sunday was not a great day for me emotionally. It doesn't happen often but there will be times when I'm just really sad and blue and even grooming doesn't bring me out of my funk. I haven't had a day like this since I started my mobile, but Sunday I was feeling pretty blue. I did 4 of my regular clients that day and I have to say, I was shocked at their behavior. Two Cavaliers that have always stood like statues were both all over the place, trying to dodge and climb. Refusing to stand up, etc. The third was a Bichon I've been grooming for almost 2 years now and he actually tried to bit me a few times. He has NEVER done that. There was the one time he had an abcessed tooth that he did try to nip when I touched his face, but this was showing me teeth and really going after me. He's an older buy and it was easy enough to dodge the teeth. But it was so strange. And then my last dog I showed up and though he usually tries to stay far away from me, this time he was shaking so much you could have mixed paint. It was a nice calm day weather wise. The ONLY thing different that day was ME. I wasn't my usual laid back, overly calm to the point of practically comatose self. I don't think I have ever raised my voice at any of the dogs in the mobile and I actually snipped at one to stand up. It wasn't loud, but it wasn't me either. It just amazes me how much my mood seemed to affect how they behaved. I remember I used to tell my coworker his dogs weren't calm in his table because he wasn't. He was always so stressed and a "go go go" type person. Love him to pieces, but i used to say "they are picking up on your stress" but I never realized just how true that all is.