Technique Question for difficult dogs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Technique Question for difficult dogs

I was reviewing some of Melissa Verplank videos and came across this one for "Maintaining Calm Control on a Dog that Bites for Foot Work" I was wondering if this really works, does it keep the dog from being able to bite, he may not be able to bite your hands but he can still get to your arm, back and make contact. This technique looks to work in theory but is it really effective?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9d0z...eature=related

Also, when clipping dogs nails do you clip from the front and keep paw in normal position just raising leg up a little or do you you turn the paws back at the ankle so you can see the underside of the nail (if that makes sense) or do you have another way I'm just curious and trying different things to see what works best for me but I am new to this so I know there are more than one way to do things, its just a matter of what is comfortable for the person...Dog..

Thanks for help!
    Diane

I clip nails in the natural position, the little dogs squirm so much I find it easier to hang on to them without them twisting and turning on me. With large dogs I usually do the back legs in the natural position and kinda lean into them with my shoulder for support. Their front feet I usually turn back. You can block bites easier when you turn the paws back. I tried the method on the video you posted and found it too awkward and I couldn`t get comfortable with it. I love my groomers helper, saves a lot of time with nails.

Comment