help my sore boys

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help my sore boys

i'm visiting my step-daughter and she has a kerry blue. neighbor is a groomer but afraid to groom dog. I help (not sharp blades, scissors, NO clipper vac) we groom. his testies were matted so I used a 10 blade to clean privates. I'm used to a cv-you guessed I have a dog with a licking problem, they were matted! help! today going to borrow a e-collar, bag balm. I have never done this before, I guess my cv keeps me from doing this.

HE may have already been licking/chewing and that is why they were matted.
    Use some calming cream or spray; anything non stinging.

Comment

That's what I was thinking edderland...

I use witch hazel.
      There are 3 different kinds of people in this world: Dog people, cat people, and rational people who don't have a problem liking two things at the same time.

Comment

Bactine

Bactine soothes and can be put on each time he starts licking.

Benadryl can make him sleepy and reduce inflammation. If used for a few days (the Benadryl and Bactine), the skin will likely be over the sensitive period and he won't keep at them.

Comment

If I read it right, you used a dull ten blade....that will ALSO cause irritation because dull blades drag and pull......I use benedryl spray and gold bond powder.
          <a href="http://www.groomwise.typepad.com/grooming_smarter" target="_blank">My Blog</a> The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why. –Mark Twain

Comment

witch hazel would burn from the alcohol,I would think. he is much better today. the bag balm is working great today. benedryl last night and a pair of little girls undies seemed to help. i agree with the dull 10 blade. thanks for the suggestions

Comment

Ummm Witch hazel has no alcohol in it.

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-witch-hazel.htm