Grooming Lifers, Advice please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grooming Lifers, Advice please!

For the past week or so I've been experiencing some cramping/tenderness in the palms of my hands in that fleshy part of the . Gripping onto my clipper, or a dogs leg, even the phone has been a nuisance lately and got me wondering what the heck is going on. I've been grooming for almost 8 years now, am 27 and hate that I'm feeling grooming related aches and pains.

I plan to do this for the rest of my career. I was wondering, for those of you who have groomed for decades, what advice you had. What tools, or what you might have done differently, or what I should I watch out for and try to prevent. Just anything cause I'm beginning to get peeved at my body for not meeting my expectations.

great post! I'm 26 and am getting worried about this kinda stuff too!

Comment

Well, i have been grooming since i was 13yrs old and am now 26yrs so going on 13 yrs now that i have been grooming and i did not start having problems with my hands untill about 4-5 yrs ago and now every now and then they ache so bad i cant grip anything. Today it was my forearms and my wrist who knows what will be next. Anyway i take aleve for the pain and just suck it up the best i can till my day is done. It sounds like nerve issues and maybe arthrits or even tendonits. As groomers this is what is to be expectied so find what works for temporary releif for you and go on the best you can. You could try soaking them in epsom salt and there are some over the counter pain releif creams that might help. Good luck!!!!!

Comment

Wait till you start having back trouble! HaHa!
        I don't have an answer for you, been grooming 17 years, I just deal with it (the aches & pains)

Comment