number of dogs a day

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• number of dogs a day

Well, since it looks like I'll be looking for a new job, I thought I'd ask. I saw someone did 20 dogs in a day! That seems like a TON to me. How many dogs a day do you average? In an 8 hour shift, I do between 6 and 8. I bathe all my own dogs too. For those of you doing more than a dog an hour, do you have someone bathing?

Mamaber

I work as a bather and our standard is 6 dogs in an 8 hour day, beyond that and we need approval from the groomer. Most will take a 7th or 8th if they are all small dogs. We Schedule one start an hour for the first six hours, so that they have at least two hours from the last arrival to the end of their day. If it is a large full groom (think st poodle) then it cant be within 3 hours of the end of their day to be safe. Each groomer has additional things they will or wont do (only one does cats, and another is pregnant and wont do dogs over 30lbs) but those are our basics to keep us from overbooking.

Comment

I typically do between 12 - 15 dogs per day. I am the only groomer but I do have someone who comes in and bathes/dries for a couple of hours. Lots of work but the payoff is rewarding - lots of happy clients!

Comment

relax

believe me, if someone is doing 20 a day, they have a bather;or they are speed. you know like waitresses; turn and burn. some groomers charge $20.00, and that is what you get! Take your time and do a good job! the good people will appreciate it! if you do a good job, you will succeed and have good customers. the cheap peeple deal with all the bad animals out there! walk tall and be proud!!!

Comment

The people doing 20 dogs a day most likely have staff helping them. Be it bather, receptionist, etc. I have a groomer friend who will groom 10-15 a day and does bathe some of them himself, but when I worked with him I took care of as much as I could so he could just sit and groom.