Independent Contractor question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Independent Contractor question

I am an independent contractor and I have a question regarding some policies. In our salon we have punch cards - buy 9 grooms get the 10th free. My question is do most groomers still get paid their commission on the free groom? Also, the owner expects me to make phone calls to get clients in and she also expects me to come in on my day off or stay late to do extra cleaning (wash walls, take apart kennels and wash etc). Is this acceptable? Any help that anyone would give me would be greatly appreciated.

It's sounding like you might not be an IC.

If you are, then you should expect to be making phone calls, making appointments and bringing YOUR OWN clients in the door. But, you should also be setting your prices, determining what discounts you do or do not give, and setting your own hours.

Yes, I would expect you to have to do some cleaning, as I don't see why you would not be responsible for cleaning your own work area, but again, this would be on your own schedule, but you should not be leaving your work area dirty. Deep cleaning does have to be worked into the schedule, but should only affect your day off if you choose it to.

As for a groomer collecting commission on a free groom? As an IC, I don't see how you can demand pay for something you offer for free.