Gordon Setters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gordon Setters

I had someone contact me about doing a few Gordon Setters that will be in the confirmation ring. I have recently done a nice Irish Setter, the gordon owner saw this dog.

I am not familiar with the specifics of this beed. I thought the head would be thinned and trimmed like a Irish, but the owner told me it wis shaved...(!) tho" I've always admired the breed.

Anyone have some details to share with me?

sittingpretty

Well, one thing you can do is contact the breed club and ask them if they can put you in contact with a very good groomer of that breed.

I am no setter junkie, I'm just learning, but I have Jodi Murphy's Irish Setter DVD (and I'm going to groom a show Irish tomorrow), and the body's are very similiar----NO clipping on the body! But I think the heads are different on the various full-coated setters.

Good luck to you, the setters are absolutely breathtaking!

Tammy in Utah
    Groomers Helper Affiliate

Comment

Tammy is right, I'd contact the breed club and get onto the computer to view many photos and read club sites info. Yes, the head is clippered.
      Here's one to start: http://www.sureshot.ca/Pages/breed/care.html
      Attached Files
      Human kindness has never weakened the stamina or softened the fiber of a free people. A nation does not have to be cruel to be tough. ~Franklin D. Roosevelt
      www.ChrisSertzel.com

Comment