I think I deserve a Mike's Thingy.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I think I deserve a Mike's Thingy.

To start off with, I think I may have bronchitis. It's going around at my girlfriend's work, AND in our salon (we all have at least some sort of cough). Really wasn't feeling well this morning, but our salon manager is on vacation, and another groomer is in the hospital from a bad cat bite, so I knew there wasn't anyone to cover my shift.

Well, in I go, and I was expecting a very very light day (it's been dead around here 'cuz of Spring Break), maybe 3-4 dogs. There was a bather working with me, she's 6mo pregnant. She had about 4-5 dogs, and I had 6 scheduled. Not as light as I thought, but not horrid. I have been grooming since July of 2008, at this point 7 or 8 is pretty much my max unless they're all big (then it's less).

So anyway, the bather finishes her first dog, I wash my first dog, not too eventful.

But then it all went downhill.

#1: the bather was working on a very hyper lab, who decided to try to eat the HV drier, and THEN jumped up ON HER STOMACH. She immediately felt pressure and pain. She called her doctor who told her to go to the ER at least just to be monitored.

#2: She gave me all her remaining dogs.

#3: I had nobody to call who could come in, so here I was by myself (luckily i work in a corporate store, so there were at least managers available in case anyone gave me problems).

So long story short, I wound up doing 11 dogs in 9 hours. These consisted of: 2 golden retriver puppy cuts (one was an express groom so done start to finish), 2 labs (including the hyper guy), a labradoodle, a standard poodle miami cut, a pug, a long haired doxie, a yorkie poo hair cut, yorkshire terrier haircut and a papillion/LH chihuahua mix with light trimming all over.