Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grooming Solo ? Yikes!!

Hello All (again)!

I've been grooming for a little over 2 months now and have opened my own shop in our garage.

All is going really well.

My mom works from home for an IT company and helps out when I have dogs to groom.

Sooner or later, probably sooner, she'll have to go back to work in her office and she works 6am - 6pm, 4 days a week.

My fear is that I'm not going to be able to groom dogs by myself as I've become accostomed to her being my assistant.

Also, I can't afford an assistant now.

Additionally, I've had a few fighters and biters. Today I had a severly matted poodle that took 5 hours. He scratched, bit, danced, hopped....I'm sure you know the type. Any advice on these types would also be appreciated. I was so frustrated I was in tears. 5 hours!! for a MINI-POODLE!

Help on all fronts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Brittney

You have options...
    1. You can schedule difficult dogs on the days that someone can assist.
    2. You can refuse these dogs entirely.

Your speed will improve with time and you'll learn how to handle the asshats more effeciently. Grooming alone is not as bad as it may seem. I groom alone and always have (except when learning). I have accute ADD and that + my personality require it ;-) Just relax, book lightly at first and add more dogs as your skills improve.
    "The gift which I am sending you is called a dog, and is in fact the most precious and valuable possession of mankind"-Theodorus Gaza

Comment

I groom Solo too,

The very first thing I would suggest is to get a Groomer's Helper and learn how to use it. It's like having a second person there helping you, or at least an extra pair of hands.
      It can control the sitters, the spinners and the biters once you figure it out.
      It will be the best money you'll spend, and once you have it, you will wonder how you ever went without it.