Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

If my dog dies don't worry I wont blame you.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• If my dog dies don't worry I wont blame you.

Seriously... I got a call as I was walking out the door on friday. It was the owner of a very old poodle who I have been grooming for a couple years now. She started grooming with me due to having to many health issues to be groomed without a vet on site.

So I answer the phone and the words come tumbling out of her mouth. Rosie has an appointment with me on friday but she saw the vet last week and her vet says it is only a matter of time. Her heart which has been enlarged for a while has gotten worse and she just wanted to call to tell me that if rosie dies.. she will be sad, but she wont blame me and she doesn't want me to feel bad.

(Blink)

I have been a groomer in a vet hospital for 18 years, so these end of life issues are not new to me.. I just have never had an owner put it in just that way.

Hehehe...I had a customer once put DNR on the card after filling in their dog's name. I asked if that stood for anything and he said, "Yeah! Do not resuscitate!" I was like......"Ooooooooooook. You got it."
    There are 3 different kinds of people in this world: Dog people, cat people, and rational people who don't have a problem liking two things at the same time.

Comment

Hmm...

An elderly poodle finally heeds the call to cross the Rainbow Bridge and somehow the groomer would be the one responsible?

Just when you think you have heard every strange comment from a pet owner. I would rate that in the top five for wierd comments.

I had a customer with two elderly poodles, one so feeble it couldn't walk to the van. I requested she sign a waiver, as I didn't think the poodle would survive the bath. She must have gone on to the bridge, as I have not heard from her in months, but I did groom her poodles three times and she seemed happy with the result.