Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

NeXaband know-it-alls. A question for ya.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NeXaband know-it-alls. A question for ya.

I am putting together a first aid kit and can't find out...at what temp does Nexaband freeze...or.... is rendered useless? Any idear?
    ( And don't refer me to the literature...why do ya think I'm asking here? Lit got ate.)

I would have posted in my "Dumb Questions" thread...but I need to get this kit together in the next 24 hours. TIA, Sibes
    Often it's not what you say, but how you say it.

http://www.wpiinc.com/pdf/msds-nexaband.pdf

Freezing Point: Not Determined

Number 9 on page 4

Scott

Comment

I'm no expert, but I did look up the MSDS for Cyanoacrylate (the generic name for Nexaband):

Appearance: colourless liquid with a distinctive odour
      Melting point: -22 C
      Boiling point: 54 - 56 C at 3 mm Hg
      Vapour density:
      Vapour pressure:
      Density (g cm-3): 1.06
      Flash point: 181 F
      Explosion limits:
      Autoignition temperature:
      Water solubility:

With the melting point being -22C (-7.6F), I would think the product would be fine unless it reaches that temp.

Here's an interesting little tidbit of info I found on Wikipedia:

Reaction with cotton
      Applying cyanoacrylate to materials made of cotton or wool (such as cotton swabs, cotton balls, and certain yarns or fabrics) results in a powerful, rapid exothermic reaction. The heat released may cause minor burns, and if enough cyanoacrylate is used, the reaction is capable of igniting the cotton product, as well as releasing irritating vapor in the form of white smoke.[4]

Material Safety Data Sheets for cyanoacrylate instruct users not to wear cotton or wool clothing, especially cotton gloves, when applying or handling cyanoacrylates.
      "The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go." ~Dr. Seuss

Comment