Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning by the books...

...and videos.

Is it possible to learn to groom on your own? I am not getting by right now, and I need to be able to pay rent. My hour are also going to be cut back. Any suggestions?

What's your background? Are you used to doing any type of grooming or bathing? I personally can't imagine learning to groom by myself! I need someone to show me things so I understand correctly. Many groomers are self taught and do very well. You really need to have a mentor to help you if at all possible.

Comment

I have been grooming for about 11 years. I started grooming my own dog as a youngster, and i learned through books. I made many mistakes, but I learned.

I do plan on having a mentor, but I can't do training full or part time as I can't afford it. Im sad that I can't continue, and I feel like Im leaving my employer on bad terms. Which I dont mean to, but I cant stand confrontation.

Comment

Whipple, I am self taught. I did have a bathing job for a while though. You know, bathing, drying, nails, ears, brushing, that sort of stuff The only hair cutting I ever did as a bather was poodle feet and only a few times. I was around groomers long enough to absorb bits of information. I was given books by a groomer and studied them. As info became available online, I'd get knowledge that way too.

I used family and friend's dogs as guinea pigs.

With the wealth of info out there, I don't see why you can't learn on your own. A pet care background is helpful though.

Good Luck.

Edit: I'm sorry, I don't think I completely understood your situation.
        Last edited by Canopener Sally; 01-05-10, 12:05 PM. Reason: addition
        That Tenacious Terrier!
        www.thattenaciousterrier.com
        https://www.facebook.com/ThatTenaciousTerrier

Comment