standard poodle and time needed to groom

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• standard poodle and time needed to groom

i want to know how long it takes good poodle groomers to groom a standard. I have been grooming for five years and have still not done a standard. today i had an interview with a man who wants to have his standard groomed at home as his dog is 11 yrs and no longer likes going to the groomer.

so this would be home grooming, not in a shop with a big blower etc. and i have no idea how long this should/will take as:
    1. it will be my first standard poodle
    2. poodle feet and face are involved (so i'm out of practice with those)
    3. it is home grooming

i was honest with the client and told him this and he thanked me for my honesty but i have to figure out pricing and time. so i was wondering how long it OUGHT to take -- how long it would take a person good with poodle grooming to do a home grooming job.
    thanks!

Well I don't really think of myself as an exceptional poodle groomer but my pet trims, I've never had a complaint.

First what does he want? If it's a short kennel clip, I'd give myself 2-2.5 hours. For the first visit I'd go ahead and allow 3 hours. I'd be conservative on a time estimate, especially for the senior dog.

You'll at least need a HV dryer I would think. Doing this job with a hand held hairdryer-nightmare.

We all have our own pace. I'm in no rush because I don't have to be. So how long should it take? How many licks does it take to get to the center of tootsie pop?
    That Tenacious Terrier!
    www.thattenaciousterrier.com
    https://www.facebook.com/ThatTenaciousTerrier

Comment

I've been grooming for 5 years and own a standard, so I'm not a stranger to grooming one, but there are others on here with MUCH more experience than I.