Help! I'm having nightmares just thinkin' bout it

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! I'm having nightmares just thinkin' bout it

This is Luke. He's 9 months old and about 100lbs. I got volunteered to show him at his first dog show in a month, and I'm at a loss about what to do with him. I have lots of experience showing BMDs, but haven't had one like him. All the ones I've shown have been ones I've spent tons of time with (Luke doesn't live with me- my mom bred him and he belongs to a close friend) and they've all been thrilled to go in the ring.

Yesterday we went to show practice in Puyallup (anyone in my area wanna come meet me!?) and Luke seemed fine, then all the sudden he puts on the brakes, chokes himself and gets all freaked out. Refuses to stand on the dog show mats. Is panting and gnawing on my hands (I had cookies) nervously. He's been through three rounds of obedience classes already, and is pretty well socialized. First time I groomed him he did the same thing coming out of the crate and when I forced him he shot anals like 4 feet across the room! I was scared this would happen again. He was being naughty whether or not his mom was there. We ended up "auditing" the class. I fed him cookies while we sat together and watched the other dogs go.

I can't tell if he's being stubborn (BMDs tend to do this, but they also tend to be big babies) or if he really is fearful. I don't want to force him to do anything, because I want him to think that hanging out with me is fun, and that dog shows are super fun. I also have read a little about fear periods, and I don't want to traumatize him.