"Are you good?"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Are you good?"

This simple question was posed to me today by a potential new client. For some reason, it took me by surprise and I had to think about my response.

So, in that split second, I'm contemplating how grooming styles are subjective and what one client likes on a pet quality schnauzer may be horrendous and appalling to another. Then I'm considering how much time and effort that I put into the quality of my business and the finished product. After that, I pondered how highly referred and incredibly booked I am, and how much I love my dogs and their people.

But instead of all that, I merely answered with a smile "Yes, I believe that I am."

Whether or not I ever groom his dog, I'm certainly grateful that he asked that question. It was simple, yet empowering. (Please forgive my musings, I'm waxing philosophical today!)

If asked this question, how would you have answered?

Jodie

back when i worked in a shop, a couple comes in on a very busy day and asks me if i have any references. i told them i have 4 ( now 6 ) of my own dogs, who would gladly give me a reference. 7 years later and now on my own i am still doing their dog.
    Certified Master Pet Tech Pet CPR, First Aid and Care Instructor
    "Compassion will cure more sins than condemnation." Henry Ward Beecher US Congregational Minister 1813-1887

Comment

It's funny you would bring this up.

We had a Scottie booked today for a VERY persnickty client. We rarely do her dogs, but she recently had surgery and can't do it herself.

She had talked to the "boss" about this and the boss asked me if I wanted it. YES, I would love to do it.

Well, she came in this am and proclaimed (after many minutes of instructions) that she only wanted my boss to do her dog. I explained to her that I was more than capable of doing her dog, but she just huffed and said she wanted "her" to do it.