What Would You Do?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Would You Do?

Here's the situation. My good friend has a really nice boarding/grooming kennel and she's always busy. Her place is really nice and about 15 years ago, I went to work for her. She taught me how to bathe, brush and check in clients. All was good. I have since worked for several places including being a vet tech for our local veterinarian for several years, to running my own kennel for a dog grooming school for about 7 years. Needless to say, I have lots of animal experience. I went back to work for my friend after being home for 3 years with my second child. During the time I worked for "Jenny" I checked in dogs for boarding and grooming, bathed in a pinch, cleaned kennels, ect. She recently thought about opening up another salon nearby and thought she would be in need of groomers. I told her I would be glad to go to school since grooming is the only thing I haven't done as far as working with animals. She thought it was a great idea and even told me which school to go to. Well, Jenny's plans of opening up another salon fell through and so she thought she would expand. She assured me she would have room for me. Well, my very supportive husband told me to go for it and we got a loan for me to start school. After I told Jenny this, she seemed to get a little stand offish. I would have to quit working to go to school and asked Jenny if she could let me work weekends so we could make ends meet while I was in school. I never got an answer from Jenny, so I had to get a job at night at a local fast food restaurant. No big deal. One night while at Jenny's I told her I didn't want to step on her other groomers' toes and maybe I can start on weekends. (She has 4 groomers including herself) Jenny proceeded to tell me that she didn't plan on giving up her spot (even though she constantly complained about having to groom) and I would just have to wait until someone quit before I was able t