tell us how you got started in grooming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tell us how you got started in grooming

tought it might be interesting to here how everyone got started...especially for the newbies. like how did you learn..grooming school, apprentice, self-taught, corprate trained, etc....and some of your experiences along the way...how long you have been grooming ...and where you are today.
    i bathed for several years..then i apprenticed for a couple more years with professional handlers..worked in many shops along the way, some good some not so good. i learned many things from both good and bad situiations. my boss and the handlers she sent me to were perfectionists!! people i have worked with have accused me of being one too, so that worked out well..i have my own shop now for about 4 years and am barely taking new customers (B & B and regulars only) i work pretty much alone (a bather when i can find one) so i do miss working with others! i wish i could find another groomer to help me, i'm lonely!!

I started as a kid. My aunt bred German Shepherds and I loved spending time at her place and spent my weekends junior handling at the shows. Then I worked at boarding kennels and grooming shops for many years, and showed dogs (mine and other peoples) on the weekends. 19 yrs later, I finally have my own home grooming business. I can't think of any other line of work that could make me happier. I want to groom dogs till I'm ninety!

Comment

I started because I wanted to be able to work out of my home. My husband said "you love animals why don't you groom?" There is a college in the next town that offered a part time grooming program, so I signed up. After completing the Basic and Advanced grooming I got a job at a local kennel grooming and doing kennel work. After I saved up enough money I was able to open my shop in my home. It was the best decision I've made. April will be my 6 year anniversary here!!

Comment

Elliemae