Old timers, share

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old timers, share

Take no offense to be called old timer LOL. Not your body age. But seriously how did you learn? Today I have 3 or 4 years experience since first started. What did you do before the internet?

I AM an old timer in age (69) and body. I got my first clippers when I was 11. We had cockers, and I had a great mentor who used to raise them She had a boarding kennel and groomed. Got my first grooming lesson. Did showing and obedience. Went to some shows with a cocker breeder/handler. Learned more. Read everything I could get my hands on. The Summer after graduation, I went to work for her at her kennel. Her daughter groomed at a vet clinic and I got a job there as a vet assistant and helped with grooming. Loved it. Went to grooming school that Winter. More books and breed magazines. Groomed at a pet store for awhile, then a job for 3 years with a top all-breed handler. Learned a ton. Groomed at a few kennels and shops, handled some dogs on my own, and bought my first biz in 1977. No internet, no grooming shows , just reading and hands on, and keenly observing. Always folks along the way who knew more and were willing to share their knowledge. Still learning. There's so much on-line to learn from. You can never know it all, no matter how old you are.
    Old groomers never die, they just go at a slower clip.

Groom on!!!

Comment