Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So apparently I groom cats now...except I've never done it before.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So apparently I groom cats now...except I've never done it before.

I just took a job at a vet's office. The last groomer did dogs and cats. I did tell them I would be interested at some point in expanding to cat grooming, but while I was training under the previous groomer she had no cats come in so I couldn't learn from her. I just found out that I have three cats scheduled in the next few weeks, the first one, a calico short hair, on Thursday! It has never been here before and the only note in the schedule is "pet does not handle grooms well." I love cats, but it has been a few years since I have owned one and I do not know how to even begin going about this. I used to think cat bites were no big deal because I got bit a lot by our very cranky kitty as a kid but after reading these boards I don't want either of us to get hurt!

Are you an employee, not an "independent contractor"? I'm asking because if you're an employee, you get worker's comp, so if the cat bites you badly enough that you need to go to the doctor for antibiotics at least you wouldn't be paying for the doctor and the drugs.
    Is there someone there who can help you by holding on to the cat or will you be working alone?
    Do they usually sedate cats who are being groomed?
    You might get lucky and have friendly cats, but this sounds risky to me. I groom cats alone, but I worked for many years with cats in animal shelters and veterinary clinics so I was able to acquire handling skills. In any case, good luck!!

Comment