Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cat grooming question

I groomed my first cat today and have a question
    how do you do it without help? I was alone in the shop today our real groomer doesnt do cats and Im still learning so I was alone .I have to Say this cat was really good but he dint want to stand up and he was huge like 25-30 pounds and would try to stay crouched down. I got him and he looked perfect ....on his back but his fat jiggley sides looked choppy whee the clippers tracked. what is the best way to do it . and also how far do you go down the legs .the whole thing ? I made him look like he has mitts it was cute the mom loved it. but whats nnormally done?

As far as learning to hold the cat and groom it alone, for me it just took experience to get it down right. Plus, I'm not really one to ask for help much. As far as the cats sides and under belly, I roll the cat on its side, holding it down with my forearm and grooming with the other hand. then I just pull the legs out gently to shave the armpits and groin areas. Usually the cat will just kind of roll over for a second. You just have to get quick and efficient, they don't have much tolerance. I shave down to before the toes begin on the front feet, and on the rear feet, just below the hocks, and then scissor them to blend in with the leg and make the paws roundish.

Comment