What makes a good groomer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What makes a good groomer?

I was talking to a fellow groomer friend tonight who has known me since June-July. I did a demo on how to groom and set a mini Schnauzer properly in Aug. she asked me to do. Halle makes it easy,because she is my pretty gal.All AKC Champ relatives 3 gens + litter sister. She was too lil. My friend has seen me groom in my van, and 2 good-looking pet black Schn. bros. I w3as under the carbon monoxide fog at the time,and not at my best. I have supported myself for7 yrs here and way before that in SF bayarea. I am self taught except for. Hershey and Burbank Expos and a few Stazko/ De Fante Seminars-M. Romani too. I also spent many hrs watching P. Johnson an award-winning best all around groomer in her vaqn and at her home. That was &yrs. ago.Suddenly, I am questioning where I fit in as a groomer. I do scissor Bichons w/ help of trusty Clipper vac. but terriers are my forte. I please cocker owners too. Often told best hes ever looked. But who did him before me? A student at Pet-----? Or a skilled scissor wizzerd somewhere between me and Pat? Will retire one two yrs. Why worry now. Just want to be better than average. My tlc makes up for lack in some areas. No cuts nicks or horror stories to tell. Til Az . No accidents, no ne. @61 I know I ain't what I once was. NO Miami trims for me or fancy poodle trims. I believe when I get a full coat Bichon it looks good. Most including don't want that length. comment ok?

Sounds like you're doing fine. I hope at 61 I am syill doing this and still wondering just like you, if my skills are up to par. That means you still have the drive to learn and be better...
    Making Central Florida Pawsitively Purrfect since 2005.

Comment

You sound as if you are doing fabulous and best of all you still question and strive to be better. We more people like you in this world.

Comment