What to Charge??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to Charge??

OK. I am only partway through the Penn-Foster Dog Grooming course, but am currently a top-notch kennel tech for a large local vet clinic, so I have lots of bathing, nail & ear care & brush out experience. I have had someone ask me if I would do this basic grooming privately & what would I charge?? I might add that I do have a basic table setup, bath & tools of my own for my own menagerie of dogs, cats, ferrets, & rabbits. I do see this as a possible way to get additional $$ & practice on my own...but what WOULD I charge as a total novice??
    Thanks in Advance for any advice!!

Stephen: We don't suggest prices here according to the usage rules.

What you would charge depends on the area that you live. I know that the area that I live now charges almost double from where I used to live. The cost of living is much higher here as well. In South Texas i can rent a two bedroom for 500. Up here, its not less than 1,000. There is a way to figure out your pricing, but someone else will have to post that, as I am unsure.

Comment

It's not just about pricing

Number one is you need to be sure the large clinic you work for would be ok with you bathing, trimming etc...their customers and getting paid for this service, apart from the clinic. Most clinics consider their customers, their customers & would not want to share.

Number two is where do you intend to conduct your business? Is your home properly zoned to do business there? Will you need liability insurance to cover vet bills in case a pet was hurt while you were performing your services?

And lastly, pricing is difficult. It is an often talked about subject. Just look in the search area upper right hand side of your screen & type in price. Groomers do not talk about prices because there are laws that prohibit us to.

Erica

Comment