How to hold the thinning scissor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to hold the thinning scissor

Iam not new to the job - but today I started thinking about the correct way to hold the thinning scissor.
    I am mostly self taught and have got most of my knowledge from books when it comes to how to use the scissors . But I cant find anything about this topic....

Should I have the straight or the toothed blade down against the coat/body????

Some of my scissors works best with the straight blade down and some with the toothed blade. But is there a "right" way ?

It depends :-)

When the blade is near the body it will cut closer, this is beneficial around crusty eye areas.

The teeth side will leave longer hair and is good for skimming.

Comment

Wow, the things I learn. I never even thought about it. Mine have finger holes for a righty and thats just how I held them never crossed my mind to flip them over. I do it with my curves so why did I never think to do it with my thinners.

Comment

I was never taught how to even use thinning shears. I have had the same question but never thought about asking.

Thanks for the asking.

I'm always learning something on this board.
        "There is no psychiatrist in the world like a puppy licking your face."
        Diane

Comment

Be super careful if you have the double blenders! lol

Comment

double thinners

someone mentioned about double thinniers. One dog groomer told me that umm...the double thinners make more marks in the coat. is that true? someone please give me their opinion on using the double thinners.

Comment

While we're on the subject...what is the difference in the 36 and 42 tooth (or whatever the numbers are!?!) I've heard different things on this one.

Comment