Working for a vet?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working for a vet?

Hi... I'm fairly new to the boards but have been lurking mostly. I graduated from grooming school last summer and then was hired by the school almost immediately and worked their until Christmas last year. I learned so much and had the benefit of working for Marnie Mathison who competes regularly, is a member of Groom Team Canada and has been in the industry for a while now.

Unfortunately I had to return to my corporate job in January after my mat leave ended. I have been utterly miserable ever since but have managed to keep myself busy with some part time home grooming.

This past week we had to take our dogs in to the vet to get them tested as they had been on Natural Balance. Unfortunately we got our tests back and they have some kidney damage but we are working on a treatment and it wasn't too far along. He's working with us and gave us all of the paperwork we need to submit a claim to support the kidney damage from the food.

So, as I was in there holding my dogs while they were getting blood done etc... my vet asked me if I was interested in coming to work at his clinic to do grooming. He has a space set aside and did have a groomer in previously. I didn't have a lot of time to get into details as I had to get my kids to the Dr. but I was wondering if this would be a good opportunity? What are the advantages/disadvantages? The last groomer brought in her own tools and was getting a 60/40 split but he may be up for a 70/30 as I would like to bring in more of my own supplies etc... How did you manage the billing? Did you let it all go through the Vet's computer and he cut you a cheque or did you manage all of that? What kind of questions should I be asking?