the unemployed groomer..... options?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• the unemployed groomer..... options?

I have been grooming for around 6 years. I feel like I am very good at what I do, and I adore my job!

But we inherited a house from my husbands family (death in family) and we would be plum silly if we passed up this 3 bed room, 2 story, newly remodeled house on 3.8 acres out in the country. Luckily my husband does not have to change jobs! But i do

The town I am moving in has a population of just 4,581 people and one other grooming salon that has gotten HORRIBLE reviews. I am not sure what to do. I can commute to the next town over but they would have to pay me very good because it is over a half hour drive. I am thinking of taking this opportunity to try to start my own dog grooming business. I know for a fact that I want to do this someday, i just didn't plan on it being this soon.

I am thinking that I will work somewhere in town (not dog grooming, there are no groomers other than the horrible one) and save up money. With that money I will buy everything I need to get started grooming in my own home. BUT my home is down a very curvy road that has lots of blind spots and hills. I am not thinking I will get much business out there. It is only 7 miles from town, but still....
    I am thinking that maybe it would be a wise move to offer pick up and drop off services so they do not have to drive out of town on those roads.

All of this time I am grooming I will be working somewhere else until I have enough clients to groom full time. And if that never happens I am fine with working somewhere else, and grooming part time.

What do you guys think of this?

Perhaps finding a non-grooming job to help save some $ is a good idea (for awhile). But why not think of going mobile? Or start a house-call business (groom in the clients' home).