Help Me! I've Hit a Wall!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Me! I've Hit a Wall!

Ok, so I've been grooming at the same box store for the last 4 years. This is where I started, and the years here are certainly irreplaceable. I have met many amazing people here, but now I've hit a wall. I can't really learn much more from my coworkers since I'm one of the most experienced people here. I attend as many seminars and conferences as I can, but I'm starting to get burnt out by this place. I groom some dogs on the side, and I really like that, but when I'm at the store, I feel like this dark cloud surrounds me and drags me down. I feel like a change of scenery would help, but I'm scared to death about leaving the comfort and "security" of the store.

Has anyone else dealt with this before? What did you do? How did you rekindle your passion?

My stint at a corporate salon made me hate grooming.
    You've never worked as a groomer in another setting? If not, you don't know what you're missing, good and bad.

Wow, I was censored?
    Last edited by Canopener Sally; 01-11-10, 06:30 PM.
    That Tenacious Terrier!
    www.thattenaciousterrier.com
    https://www.facebook.com/ThatTenaciousTerrier

Comment

Set some goals

For yourself! Start working towards certification! Find someone in your area who shows dogs and ask if you can work with them on your days off. Is there a breed you really like? Find a breeder and perfect that breed. You don't have to leave your current job to do these things.
      I have people that come and work with me for a day here and there to change things up, learn different ways to do things etc....You don't say where you are from but, there are people all over the country that you could do this with.

Comment