Feeling slow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Feeling slow

Hello all. Ive been grooming aprox 1 yr. Ok learning aprox 1 year. I was a veterinary technician for about 10 years and thought learning to groom would be right up my alley. Ive been an apprentace to a fantastic groomer who is great at what she does. My only complaint is that It seems I am very slow at scissoring and she is able to do 8 dogs compaired to my 4 per day. My question is at what point should I be ablet to do quality grooming without taking hours. Thanks

Don't beat yourself up

and, no one can answer that question for you, sorry! ;-) Right now, you should still be focusing on quality, not quantity. I used to get SOOO frustrated when I was learning about how slow I was- even though that was over 20 years ago, I still remember how it felt!lol There are time-saving tricks you can learn, and maybe your teacher just isn't aware of the things she does that she can show you. In other words, I know alot of what I do is just deeply ingrained habit that I'm not even concious of most of the time, know what I mean?

Give yourself time, read lists like this one, and start timing yourself on each dog you do. How long does it take you to do each step? Keep a log by your table, and you'll soon see where you're losing time, and you can then focus on those areas. :-)

Comment

Roos Salon had a great answer. But reading your post twice, Cute Kitty, I cant help but wonder if she is actually 'instructing and apprenticing' you or just having you watch while she becomes scissor wizard. She should have you standing beside her with the scissor in your hand and hers. You do one paw scissored slowly and let her interrupt and show you how on the other paw - SLOWLY. If she is just saying 'watch me' or you are getting frustrated when she tries to show you how...it wont work. Has to be a good balance between instructor and student.