Petco (to go or not to go) Please help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Petco (to go or not to go) Please help

I visited my local shelter today to sign up to volunteer, they told me I could bathe as many dogs as I wanted and they also had some dogs they wanted me to groom isn't that great. My question is when I was there one of the employees said that the petco in my area had closed its grooming shop due to lack of groomers. should I apply as a grooming assistant or stay away, how long should one train before taking on a job? I know I can do the basics I have been training for 2 months I have more of a lack of confidence than anything, any help would be great.

Edited.
    Last edited by pamperedpups; 02-20-07, 12:35 AM.

Comment

working for a particular petco isn't any different from working some where else. your experience will be determined by store management.
      Certified Master Pet Tech Pet CPR, First Aid and Care Instructor
      "Compassion will cure more sins than condemnation." Henry Ward Beecher US Congregational Minister 1813-1887

Comment

I would apply, They also have a school that if they feel you need it they will send you. Could be beneficial for you
        "Whoever Said That Money Can't Buy Happiness Forgot About Puppies"
        Nancy

Comment

Options

I think there is a consistant theme here of grouping petsomethings. As an employee I just want to introduce a few thoughts.

When there is a survey on customer service that customers take, and one store is rated #20 and another one state away is rated #700, is it fair to judge them as one? I dont think so. I am just pointing out that just as peoples skills and personalities vary, so do petsomethings salons. I will also go as far as to say that ABC salon isnt going to be exactly the same as K9grooming one town over.