Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Desperately seeking shampoo/conditioner advice. Scottie dog.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Desperately seeking shampoo/conditioner advice. Scottie dog.

I'm doggy-sitting the little fella over the weekend, and grooming him tomorrow.
    He's 10, and I've been grooming him for ~8 years.
    He has Cushings, and was just diagnosed w/ Lymphoma...started Chemo last Wed.

He has a glorious coat, but HORRIBLE skin. For the past 3 years when I've groomed him, thousands and thousands of chunky, white flakes just peel off of him.
    No irritation, no redness, no gooeyness, no itchiness, just these awful white flakes. Buckets of them.

I'm going to give him a Nature's Specialties Hypo-aloe-genic shampoo this afternoon, just to clean him up.

I am going to re-bathe tomorrow, before I groom him.
    Is there ANY sort of conditioner that any of you guys in a similar boat....have tried and found to have any benefit at all?
    I have about 15 different conditioners/coat restorers....and know I am grasping here...but thought it was worth a shot? Many TIAs.
    Often it's not what you say, but how you say it.

I would first give him a Hypo bath (like you did) then I would do an oatmeal shampoo, while the oatmeal shampoo sits I would wrap him in a towel for 10 minutes

Comment

Did you see my post about the vet recommending Head and Shoulders? Sounds like he needs it!!! JK!??

Comment

Originally posted by dgpaw View Post
        I would first give him a Hypo bath (like you did) then I would do an oatmeal shampoo, while the oatmeal shampoo sits I would wrap him in a towel for 10 minutes
        And no conditioner, etc? (I'm kinda eyeing my Plush Puppy Coat Rescue...but more for the skin than the coat...)

I have tried "conditioning" shampoos, wrapped him in warm towel for 10+ minutes, but never oatmeal, so I can definitely give that a shot. Thanks,

Comment