Home-based shop vs. Storefront

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home-based shop vs. Storefront

Hi all! I am new to this group and was hoping for some input from some experienced groomers... I've been grooming for 12 years and for the past four years owned a home-based busy pet grooming shop. I have one employee (bather) and work 4-6 days a week. I'm contemplating moving my shop to town as we are tied down to our house with my business being at home. We have three elementary-age kids so it's nice to be able to be home with them and they can play in the summer while I work. I've sat down and crunched numbers trying to figure out if it would be worth it to move to town and hopefully hire one or two more groomers. I don't live in a huge area but I have a decent-size clientele and currently I'm the only groomer who grooms large breeds in our area. What do you all think? any input is greatly appreciated! thanks 😊

It sounds like you're doing well right where you are. I am home-based now, but have had 2 storefront shops. Everything looks good on paper, but then, reality sets in. Rents can be a huge factor in deciding how much profit you will make-not to mention the other utilities and build out fees. Great to think about adding another groomer or 2-until you actually put out that help wanted ad and find good groomers are as rare as snow in Florida. I love the more laid back atmosphere of my home shop. It seems more personal than a storefront biz. A whole lot less stressful, too. Don't know what rents are like in your area, but if I were starting over (been at this for over 40 yrs), I would think about going mobile if you decide to give up your house. Just a thought.
    Old groomers never die, they just go at a slower clip.

Groom on!!!

Comment