Question on wages

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on wages

I have been a groomer for almost 6 years now. Before that I worked as a veterinary technician. I have a lot of experience in this field and know I could bring a lot to the table. I am patient with both animals and clients and feel I am very easy to work with. I interviewed at a new shop yesterday and they offered me a wage of $10 an hour plus 20% commission on every dog you do. This would be a side job for me because I have been working at another shop for over 3 years now. I make 50% commission there. As much as I try to figure it out it just doesn't nearly match what I make at my other job. They said they were open to negotiations but I'm not at all sure what to ask for. They currently have a groomer there and they said she accepted that wage but she has only been grooming for a little while. They seemed like really great people and I would like to work something out with them. Any help would be appreciated on this topic! Thank you so much

If you are responsible for your own equipment and maintaining it nothing less than 50% commission. Don't under value your worth no matter how nice the people are.

Comment

Originally posted by janice524 View Post
      If you are responsible for your own equipment and maintaining it nothing less than 50% commission. Don't under value your worth no matter how nice the people are.

^^^THIS!

Comment

As an employer, I will never again pay 50% commission....I've stopped giving HALF my business way to employees. In fact, it is actually MORE then half when you figure in my part of payroll taxes, etc

Comment

Are the prices the same, less or more than the other shop?

Either way doing simple math I'm coming up with more money not less.

Comment

Originally posted by cockerlvr View Post
            Are the prices the same, less or more than the other shop?

Either way doing simple math I'm coming up with more money not less.