Why does everyone call themselves "Groomers"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why does everyone call themselves "Groomers"

Why do we still call ourselves "groomers" when in my world I am a pet stylist? Can someone shed some light on groomer vs stylist?

I personally attribute "pet stylist" with a Pet-something. If I didn't have that connotation I may call myself that. However it does, so it's "groomer for me." Maybe I'll be a pet barber. Barbers back in the day knew their way around a pair of shears.
    That Tenacious Terrier!
    www.thattenaciousterrier.com
    https://www.facebook.com/ThatTenaciousTerrier

Comment

i think it's more habit than anything. but as the saying goes
      "That which we call a rose. By any other name would smell as sweet."
      Wm. Shakespeare
      Certified Master Pet Tech Pet CPR, First Aid and Care Instructor
      "Compassion will cure more sins than condemnation." Henry Ward Beecher US Congregational Minister 1813-1887

Comment

I prefer "pet stylist" myself and this has been a heated topic a few times on here. While I prefer being called a "stylist", most everybody in the public has always referred to us as groomers and there are times it's just easier to accept the title "groomer".
        I have a totally different thought of what a "groomer" is compared to that of a "pet stylist"
        ~*~*~Shawn, C.M.G.~*~*~
        Apparently common sense isn't all that common
        *~*~emipoo on egroomer*~*~*

Comment

No, no light to shed

Well, some people are picky about which one they like to be called, but when I started grooming there was no alternative moniker being tossed around, just dog groomer. And there were good ones and not-so-good ones. Same as today, it seems to me, no matter what someone wants to call themselves. (Although perhaps calling ourselves by a more catchy title may bring more money - looked what happened to some mutts that are now called GoldenDoodles, for instance. <snicker>)

Comment