Station rental???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Station rental???

I'm considering opening a high end grooming salon and want to rent stations instead of hiring groomers. I've owned a biz before and would like to avoid the pitfalls of employees. I've been grooming for 16 years, I'm tired of working for other people and would love a place where I could just rent a station to take my clients to. I know there has to be groomers out there that want the same. If they rent they are more likely to market themselves to get more clients and uphold a good reputation. Basically a hair salon atmosphere.
    I will provide towels, a basic table and front help. They would pay $100-$125 per week(paid at the 1st of the month), handle their own clients, schedule and have basic liability insurance. For a few dollars more they would have access to online appointment setting software. If they want to sell retail they could do so on consignment. I will offer a credit card machine they enter a code in so the money goes to them. I will have a contract with them that covers the basics like; if they no show the clients will be given to other staff and they keep the money, if rent isn't paid they don't work, they must lock up their stuff and clean their station.

Ok so I need opinions....cons, worst case scenarios and anything else I may be missing.

Great idea but

So lets say you has 4 booth to rent out, Is there a bather or a front office staff ( for a high end salon there should be)
    does that really cover your cost. Set up washer towels, water utilityes, repairs, rent and som much more.
    I personal feel $200 to $250 is more what it should be for booth rental. That is only $800 per month and a good groomer should bring no less that $240 a day at the least!(that is just 6 dogs at $40) that leaves them over $4500.00 a month. Where are you opening up I will come work for you for just $100 on boothe rental.

Comment