What would you do? Awkward Situation.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What would you do? Awkward Situation.

So I've been grooming the elderly parents dogs for 25 years. Dear, wonderful, sweet people who only adopt ancient, feeble dogs from the HS. I've prolly groomed 18 to 20 dogs for them over the years...as some only live a year, some for a few years, but they want for not w/ this couple.

So they refer their daughter to me last Summer. Daughter has Beardie, and 2 cockers, and has not followed in her parents footsteps w/ regard to coat care. I can live w/ that.

Problem is her lack of respect for my time, continual whining about price, wanting a "discount" for bringing me THREE dogs in dreadful condition, and the thing that irks me the most...is I'll give her an appt., or a choice of appt dates, and she rarely manages to follow thru, even w/ a phone call to confirm her decision. So if I haven't heard from her a week in advance...I just evaporate her appt in my book.

Sooooo...if/when she calls back....I have decided I no longer want to offer my services to her. I've only tolerated this for as long as I have (6 months) because of the parent connection.

Knowing the relationship I have w/ her parents, (and I certainly do not want to "tattle" on her...she's a grown-up)...but how would you word this w/ the DAUGHTER?

I doubt I'll lose the parent's bizz over this, so that's not my concern.
    I just don't want my 1 nerve frazzled by this gal anymore.
    Last edited by 4Sibes; 01-17-10, 10:08 AM.
    Often it's not what you say, but how you say it.

I think you are doing the right thing to terminate the "relationship" w/the daughter. I would just make sure to make it clear to her next time she calls WHY you don't want to service her anymore.