Default Permanent Impairment From Cat Bite

I just wanted to let everyone know what happened to me last year when I got bitten by a cat. Please get to a doctor right away if a cat bites you and breaks the skin! I have been grooming for 20 years, and I now have permanent joint and nerve damage, due to a severe infection in my left hand from a cat bite. I got bitten early in the morning, and was told by my employer not to go for medical assistance until the groomers had completed all the haircuts for the day. It was after 6pm that evening , when I finally got to see a doctor. By that time, I could not move my left hand or wrist at all, and I had severe blood poisoning. I had to get I.V. antibiotics, every day for a week. I was out of work for 3 months, and had hand therapy. But I have lost about 65-75% of the use of my left hand, due to the infection destroying joint and nerve tissue. I can no longer groom dogs over about 25-30 lbs. I have started my own housecall business, grooming only small dogs. Needless to say, I have suffered a significant drop in income. Docors say the damage is permanent, due partly to the fact that I had to wait so long before seeing a physician. So my advice to anyone, regarding a cat bite-Don't wait! See a doctor immediately!

I am sorry to hear about that. That is such a shame. I agree with you 100% about seeing a doctor right away. I knew someone who had to get surgery because of a cat bite, that put her out of work for quite some time. I hope you got some sort of compensation from your employer.

Default Absolutley awful! Unreal!

My heart really goes out to you!
    Ahhhhh what more to say! Just awful!

Shame on your former employer!!!
    Erica

Default Wow