Clown Does the groomer pay the bather or does the shop?

This is my 1st post..I need to ask all you experienced groomers and shop owners about paying a bather. Quick history: I've been grooming for 7 years, the last 6 at the same shop. I get 60% and am considered an Independent Contractor, I pay the self-employment tax, and get a 1099 at the end of the year. (I know this arrangement is not right, but it works). There is one other groomer in the shop (also an IC) and the owner grooms occasionally. We have never had a bather before. Now, my question: The owner has trained her step-daughter to be a bather, and has decided to pay her $5.00 per dog. She wants me and the other groomer to pay her $2.50 per dog she bathes and we finish, and the shop pay the other $2.50 (for large dogs each pays $5.00). In your experience, is this fair to all, or is there a better way? Also, I should mention that the bather does a good job (and is fast), but (right now) does not do nails, anals, ears, fluff dry, or any brushouts, and I don't see it bringing in any additional business. Thanks for your help.

Since you are an IC yes it is fair. And to be honest one can work faster, and make more money with a bather. Not to mention save your body. Wish I could get my dogs bathed for 2.50. Sounds like a deal to me. But that is just me. It sounds like something you need to sit down and do the math, and maybe just do a trail run.

Geek Shop should pay!

In most salons the owner pays the bather an hourly wage. In one salon I worked in as a bather, the store paid the bathers an hourly wage and the groomers got commission. The groomers had the option of sharing their tip with the bather if the bather bathed the dog. The bather got the tip if it was a bath dog. You may want to check, but it may be illegal for the owner to require you to help pay the bather.

Quote Originally Posted by kated View Post