Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Grin 40 Blade Shave Down

Hello everyone,
    I am a manager of a grooming salon for about 5 years now. I apprenticed under an AKC judge. So I believe my skills are pretty good, but there is ALWAYS room to learn more. I had 2 maltese that came in matted beyond your imagination. I could not get through the matting with a 10, 15, or 30. I had to take a surgical 40 blade and do the legs, and chest with it. I was very uncomfortable doing that, as I know how thin their skin is. I was afraid that their skin would literally peel off with their fur. Has anyone else had to use a 40 to do a shave down, as this was the 1st time in 5 years I had to do that. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated..

Between wet shaving, and the bravura trimmer, I haven't had to go that short. My poodle rescue was pretty pink when he was done, but didn't need to resort to a 40. So sad when owners' let their dogs get that bad.

Maybe should have done a wet shave. I have never used a 30 or 40 on any shave down, even before I started wet shaving, and that is over 30 years.

Mad Yes I have.

I had a seelyham (sp?) terrier come in that was matted head to toe. I could do his face and body with a 10, but his legs and feet had to be done with a 40 blade IN REVERSE, in order to get through the matting. It was horrible. Here is the dog: http://sshukuiye.tumblr.com/post/217...ve-demats-like

As the others have said, a wet shave with my Laube Speed Feeds or a 10 blade on a regular clipper usually works.

Keweenaw Peninsula, Upper Michigan (Da Yoop)

I agree with the others here, check out all the great info we have on wet shaving. I have never had to go shorter than a 10 blade, and now with wet shaving I rarely go shorter than a 7.

I have gotten all manners of horrendous matted messes. I've worked with rescues, shelters, abuse cases, body parts being melded to others (ears and tail once), you name it!