Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Shaving shih tzu faces

Ok so always use my thinning shears to do shih tzu faces and a new client who usually gets her dog's face clipped came in today and wanted the face really short. Well I figured I could do it with the shears but she called later to say although I had done a nice job she would have liked it shorter so I should have clipped it. The problem is I am scared to do it. I feel like I won't get a nice finish or I will make a hole or there will be a cowlick or something. I always find that faces look so bald when they are clipped. I think I am just nervous because I have never done it before maybe. Any instructions or tips to help? Thanks!

Do it like a poodle with a ten blade backwards. I do quite a few of them like that. NOT my fave look, but still, if that is what they want, that is what they get.

Below is Sambo, the black and white that is totally shaved except ears. His face is actually done with a 15 backwards and the top of the muzzle with a 30....again, NOT my idea.

Harley is the other one. He is done with a 9 setting on the speed feed WITH the grain because he irritates.

Some people cannot stand the faces geting wet or stinky, so we do what we have to do.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    My Blog The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why. –Mark Twain

A vet clinic I worked at in the past, I use to have a lot of clients that wanted their shih-tzu face clipped the same length as the body. I don't think you have to worry about anything, I always did it with the growth of the hair, and they look a little funny, but I've never had a problem. I just clip it with the clippers, and then I go back over with thinning shears to get any spots that the clippers missed.

I shave a LOT of shih tzu faces. I do them with a 15 blade and do the same pattern as a poodle face.

Default face