Unsure Pomeranian coughing and choking

I was grooming 6 year old Pom a couple of days ago and a few minutes after I started drying her she started coughing and the cough got more intense and then it seemed like she was either choking or couldn't catch her breath. This is a Pom that I have been grooming for 2 years with no problems like this. She is a little high strung but not too bad. Needless to say I stopped drying immediately and was getting ready to take her back in to Mom when she stopped and went back to normal. It was rather unnerving. Mom is an elderly lady and I asked if she had been coughing and she said she had but didn't think it was bad. Just a little cough here and there. I told her that I thought she needed to be seen by the vet. I hope I wasn't overreacting. I hate to ask someone to take their dog to the vet unneccessarily. If she was my dog I would take her in. I guess that's how I gauge giving that advice. I just lost a Pom client from collapsed trachea so of course that was the first thing that came to my mind. My DH thinks I overreact sometimes but I just couldn't not be concerned about a clients dog that was coughing like that. She really only did it when she was stressing. She doesn't really act out but when you're doing something she doesn't like she purses her lips. It's actually kind of cute. It's almost a pout. She was still damp when I took her in but no way was I going to chance something happening to her if I could help it. What do you guys think? Anyone ever have this happen?
    ~*~Robin~*~
    "In a perfect world, every dog would have a home and every home would have a dog."

I do a couple dogs that have collapsed tracheas. They cannot have a grooming noose or collar or lead or even a bandana around their neck. The start coughing if their is pressure on the trachea. It's a possibility if they aren't sick, but obviously a vet needs to check it out.