Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default How do you get dogs to dry fast enough?

I have groomed a lot of dogs but I find that a few of them just dont dry fast enough! I always wonder how you professional groomers do a ton of dogs a day when my (high powered) dog blow dryer drys dogs in like 2 hours! Any help?

What breeds/coat types are giving you the most trouble? I know I have many different techniques/systems/time-saving things I do, depending on the individual dog.
    Often it's not what you say, but how you say it.

Read (or re-read) drying discussed in Melissa Verplank's book. Use the high velocity and a towel - guide the water spray into the towel rather than just spraying it all over the rest of the dog & move slowly. Her technique has helped me drastically reduce drying time - I've got hairy standards down to about 30 min.

I'm by no means a pro groomer, but I've shown bernese mtn dogs forever and worked as a bather a lot (I'm now focusing on learning the trade) but I've learned a few tricks. A lot seems obvious, but no one showed me until I had worked in a few shops, so maybe it's not. This is how I do the cooperative dogs:

1. Get the dog sparkling clean. This seems obvious, but for some reason it makes a big difference in drying speed. Not sure why. I do know that last week when drying a cocker for another groomer (she bathed it, and did a very quick job) the dog took MUCH longer to dry than it's sister (that I bathed) with the same amount of coat.

2. I towel them off really well. If it's a big hairy, I use HV dryer to get most water droplets off in tub. I put them on the table, standing on a towel.