Default White hairs on a black dog

This isn't really a health concern, but I'm really wondering what it is. My black Standard poodle is 7 months old and a couple months ago I noticed one long, thick, coarse white hair growing on her tail. But today I just noticed these white hairs are growing all over her back, too! I'm really confused! Can someone tell me why my black dog seems to be turning white?

Natalie

I know it is common for black dogs to get white hairs mixed in, although 7 months is a bit early...Most black dogs do not stay pure black-if you see older jet black dogs, they are typically dyed...

Maybe he is turning silver. Mine is a silver, he was almost black when I adopted him

I'm not an expert and don't really know the answer to your question. But this is what I've noticed. I have a black poodle who has a lot of white/gray hair all through her coat. She is at least 12 yrs old, but she has had them forever. I groom a couple of other black poodles who have also grown the white/gray hair. I've been grooming one of them since she was a puppy and the older she gets the more white/gray hair appears. I'm just guessing it is the norm with these dogs.
    "There is no psychiatrist in the world like a puppy licking your face."
    Diane

Quote Originally Posted by scullysmom View Post
    Maybe he is turning silver. Mine is a silver, he was almost black when I adopted him
    I don't think that's what it is, these hairs are a bit different texture, heavier and thicker than her black fur. Also she's been jet black since the day I met her and the breeder told me she'd be black. The white hairs are spaced out on her back and hard to see if you're not looking for them, but you can certainly find them. Also the entire hair is growing pure white, as white as paper, not gray/silver at the base like I believe silvers do.

Natalie