Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Question Dematting or shaving a shih tzu Help

I am not exactly sure where to put this post but here it is. I am new to grooming & have a lady bringing a 9 lb 2 year old shih tzu she rescued that has been locked in a kennel for most of it's life. She said there is quite a bit of matting & to do what I need to do to make the dog comfortable & able to start fresh in its new home. OK, I have seen all of the terrible shave downs due to matting so bad & so close to the skin that people have posted & I am scared to do this dog, I am not sure exactly how bad it is but just in case I want to be prepared for the worst. If I have to shave the dog, what is the best way to go about this? Do I bath 1st? Wet shave or after hv shave? Do I scissor & then shave? What blade or ss comb should I use? Any tips or tricks would be appreciated. I really need to learn this sooner or later & I guess now is as good of time as any. Wow if I could pull this off I would be so happy knowing I helped this little dog. PM me if you would rather. Thanks, Terri

Quote Originally Posted by sunshinetm View Post