PDA

View Full Version : Nair on Dogs

Gracy Rose
10-18-10, 03:30 PM
For those who know me you know that I am a researcher by nature. I do not agree or disagree with how people choose to run their OWN business- I only know HOW I ALLOW my business to be run.
First- let me say that I do NOT allow products "not made for the trade" to be used on skin, coat or crevices of pets. With this being said last year I wrote a letter to Proctor and Gamble in regards to the safety of Dawn dish soap and then again wrote a letter to Johnson and Johnson about Tear Free vs Tear Less in baby shampoo. When I want answers I will ALWAYS go to the source.

I did write a letter to Church Dwight- the company that owns Nair. I received a very informative letter from Jennifer Cuthbert liaison for Customer Relations and their Legal Department. I have been out of town and returned today to a CERTIFIED Letter informing me of their stand on my questions.
Here was my email letter to them:

In regards to your product Nair-
I am a pet groomer and recently heard of your product being used in a diluted formula as an ear hair depilatory on dogs. I am intrigued by the thought but wanted to understand exactly which ingredients if any may propose a danger to the pet. I understand that this is to be considered "common practice" in my profession.

Their reply: Nair products are not made for Animals and we are strongly opposed to using it on Animals. Due to the fact that ears create a suction the possibility is so great to create a vacuum and draw Nair products into the ear canal that we are legally opposed anyone who does this as part of a business. We ask that you not use our products on animals and any further information in regards to the practice of using our products on animals be addressed to me and include case no. 004611563A.

Just thought y'all would like to know of their response and my concern is where they wrote "legally opposed".

puligroomer
10-18-10, 04:15 PM